Cadet Award For Bravery

The Cadet Award for Bravery may be awarded by the Canadian Forces to Cadets who perform outstanding deeds of valour involving risk of their own lives in saving the lives or property of others.

Lord Strathcona Medal

The Lord Strathcona Medal (LSM) is the highest Award which can be bestowed upon a Cadet in recognition of exemplary performance in physical and military training.

The Medal and the accompanying Certificate of Merit are awarded by the Lord Strathcona Trust. The issue and wearing of the LSM is authorized by the Chief of the Defence Staff. Each Air Cadet Squadron may award one Medal in each training year, but the award of the Medal is to be based solely on the availability of a worthy candidate. Awarding the LSM annually is not mandatory and should not be a matter of custom for a particular appointment or by seniority alone.

Royal Canadian Legion Cadet Medal of Excellence

The Royal Canadian Legion Cadet Medal of Excellence (RCLCME) recognizes individual endeavours of a citizenship nature, which meet or enhance the aims and objectives of the Cadet organizations. It is wholly sponsored and awarded by the Royal Canadian Legion.

Order of St. George Medal

The Order of St. George will award a medal to honour Staff Cadets who distinguish themselves in their exemplary contribution at a CTC during the summer training period.

Air Force Association of Canada Medal

The Air Force Association of Canada (AFAC) medal is presented to Air Cadets for excellence demonstrated on the Glider Pilot Scholarship (GPS) and Power Pilot Scholarship (PPS). One medal shall be awarded to the top cadet, male or female, on both the GPS and PPS in each of the five regions. Selection will be based on overall achievement on the course, leadership qualities, dress and deportment, motivation and cooperation with others.

Army, Navy, Air Force Veterans Cadet Medal of Merit

One medal shall be awarded at each CTC to the top cadet, male and female, for each of the following courses:

  • Advance Aviation Technology Course – Airport Operations
  • Advanced Aviation Technology Course – Aircraft Maintenance
  • Advanced Aerospace Course
  • Leadership and Ceremonial Instructor Course
  • Fitness and Sports Instructor Course
  • Survival Instructor Course
  • Air Rifle Marksmanship Instructor Course
  • Music Levels 4-5 Courses
  • Pipes and Drums Levels 4-5 Courses

The selection of the recipients shall be based on the following criteria:

  • Overall achievement
  • Leadership qualities
  • Instructional abilities
  • Dress, deportment and motivation
  • Cooperation with others

Air Cadet League of Canada Air Cadet Service Medal

To qualify for this Award, a serving Cadet must have successfully completed four years of honourable service with no serious infractions and be recommended by the Cadet Squadron Commanding Officer.


The Cadet Certificate of Commendation may be awarded by the Canadian Forces to an Air Cadet for outstanding gallantry in saving lives or property of others.


The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award was founded by His Royal Highness, The Prince Philip to encourage personal development and community involvement for young people through four distinct areas:

  1. Community Service
  2. Skill Development
  3. Physical Fitness
  4. Adventurous Journey

Since its establishment in Canada in 1963, more than 500,000 young Canadians have taken the challenge which has Bronze, Silver, and Gold levels of the Award.


The Colonel Robert Perron Fitness Award (hereafter called the Colonel Perron Award) recognizes outstanding achievement in physical fitness. This National Award will be presented annually to the Cadet who attains the highest physical fitness test score. Cadets from the Army, Navy and Air elements are eligible to apply for this Award.


Effective Speaking Competition Pins will be awarded to each Cadet participating in a formal Effective Speaking Competition at the Zone/Wing, Provincial, and National Levels.